I'm Game! Are You?

A4ad8FPCAAAwaMO.jpg-large.jpg
A4aSsUfCMAAWqkj.jpg-large.jpg
Nashville.jpg
A4aBm_wCMAAtD3Z.jpg-large.jpg
A4Ztq_vCYAAm8Th.jpg-large.jpg
A4ZtQRpCQAAaziF.jpg-large.jpg

So yes, I am still in shock at the fact that I am actually a CU Water Cooler Editor. This title was given to me at the CU Water Cooler Symposium that was held in Nashville in October. How did I win such a prestigious role you ask? I won a scavenger hunt. That’s right, my unwavering ability to willingly make a complete fool out of myself in front of a city full of strangers landed me this awesome gig.

(Take that countless teachers, bosses, authority figures who told me my “class-clown” ways wouldn’t get me anywhere in life. I say to you, HA!)

Participating in this scavenger hunt took guts. Yes, I am an outgoing and competitive person but the possibility of the unknown is always daunting. I made the decision that I was going to win. I was going to do what it took no matter how ridiculous it seemed so that I could achieve something that I wanted.

Here’s what I learned from this adventure:

1. Take a chance – I could have sat in my hotel, watched TV and ordered room service. That act in itself would have been a win in my book because my typical evening involves wrangling a very energetic two-year-old, convincing her that vegetables taste good and she should want to eat them, wrestling her into a bathtub and then getting her to bed. The thought of sitting, feet propped in a quiet room all by myself was very enticing. But that was easy. I wanted to win, remember? I had to take a chance. I had to decide that giving up what was comfortable was worth the possibility of winning a cool prize.
  2. Be willing to fail – This event was attended by a couple hundred people with the same opportunity, so I also had to be willing to do it all or nothing. I had to assume that everyone else was going to outperform me by wasting away, I mean, spending their evening at this competition.